Two Great Articles About Writers on Social Media

In my research on developing a kick-ass author platform, as dictated by one of my New Year Goals (

Beginning the New Year with Sand

), I have been reading about this subject lot. Now, these two articles are not necessarily a “how to” of being an author on social media and developing a platform, but are geared more towards etiquette and how not to annoy everyone in the universe.

Mostly, it struck a cord in me how much I related. I thought I would direct your attention towards them for our shared ruminations – tell me what you think!

Please Shut Up: Why Self-Promotion as an Author Doesn’t Work

And her rebuttal to her own self:

Wait, Keep Talking: Author Self Promotion that Actually Works

I love these articles mostly because of how well they fit into my experiences on social media as of yet. But she’s also making a lot of sense.

What do you think? Have you been noticing something like this?

About R. K. Brainerd

I've been writing since my pre-teens, mostly in the realm of fantasy and sci-fi. Taking interesting concepts and dropping complex characters into fantastical worlds is my jam. I also raise dairy goats and herd cats, the evidence of which can be found on my Instagram. Welcome to the adventure. View all posts by R. K. Brainerd

7 responses to “Two Great Articles About Writers on Social Media

What do you think?