Why You Should Read YA

Look! I guest posted for this awesome lady.

“Forget Why You CAN read YA; Here’s Why You Should”

Written Infinities

Hello bloggers!

Today I present to you the second installment in my YA Series. The introductory post can be found here. However, this was not written by me, rather by a wonderful guest writer, R. K. Brainerd. She tackles the idea of why YA needs to be read and the parallels between being a teenager and literature. Without spoiling too much, I bring you the guest post!

Forget Why You CAN Read YA; Here’s Why You Should

pexels-photo-largeYoung Adult literature is probably the most popular genre-slash-age-group section out there today. You can find nearly any genre, theme, or issue presented in YA style, from quick, fun reads to solemn, heart wrenching stories.

Yet YA gets a lot of flack. I won’t talk about the overused example that starts with a T and ends with vampire, but many people use it as their prime example to reduce YA to a genre of…

View original post 787 more words

About R. K. Brainerd

I've been writing since my pre-teens, mostly in the realm of fantasy and sci-fi. My characters are pretty much always clamoring for attention in my head, and if I don't listen to them, they plague me with insane dreams and nightmares until I start writing. I also raise dairy goats, the evidence of which can be found on my Instagram. I've just recently begun my foray into the writing world and look forward to it all with devilish glee. Welcome to the adventure. View all posts by R. K. Brainerd

2 responses to “Why You Should Read YA

  • Shannon Noel Brady

    I saw this on Megan’s blog and wanted to come here to tell you great article! You raised excellent points – I especially liked the one about teenagers being philosophers. I hadn’t thought about it in that way before but it’s so true.

    Liked by 1 person

    • R. K. Brainerd

      Well thank you for coming over! And thank you for the compliment. This was a lot of fun to write. I did a bunch of research into ideas for this and it was thought-provoking for sure!

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

