Thoughts from the Willamette Writers Conference: Part One

Well. The Willamette Writer’s Conference was AMAZING. And it wasn’t just the classes, or the pitching to agents and publishers; it was the connection with other writers, the discussions of ideas, and the introverted writer world coming together in a very nourishing environment. I’m still exhausted by constantly learning and talking to people for 12 hours a day for almost three days, but I feel revitalized. Excited. Re-purposed.

It wasn’t like I didn’t understand my purpose as a writer and want to succeed, but there’s nothing like meeting a group of like-minded people. Or feeling like you’re a part of something. Which is funny, coming from such a introverted, self-focused profession.

Anyway, I’d love to share all of what I learned (both from the classes and from the people) in blog posts, so I’m going to! Of course, personal notes and addendums will be added, because that’s rather half the point of going to a conference anyway. Since a single post (even on just what I learned) would probably be a mile long and nobody is going to read that, I’m going to split up the three days into two posts. Then I’ll edit this post and put the links below! Stay tuned!

Part Two!

Part Three!

About R. K. Brainerd

I've been writing since my pre-teens, mostly in the realm of fantasy and sci-fi. My characters are pretty much always clamoring for attention in my head, and if I don't listen to them, they plague me with insane dreams and nightmares until I start writing. I also raise dairy goats, the evidence of which can be found on my Instagram. My debut novel -- an alternate-history fantasy -- it set to come out in 2018, probably Fall time. Welcome to the adventure. View all posts by R. K. Brainerd

3 responses to “Thoughts from the Willamette Writers Conference: Part One

What do you think?

