Query Love Begins . . .

I have sent out five queries today! It is the beginning of my querying adventure for my latest manuscript I finished, and I’m sure will be a long and patience-inducing adventure.

The last time I tried to query, it was for a different manuscript that wasn’t ready. I’m sure the self-doubt will creep in here shortly, but I feel positive about this manuscript. It’s better crafted, has strong characters and plot, flows well, and its concepts are better articulated.

So now the waiting game begins. The anxious, trying-to-stay-still, deliberately not checking email fifteen times a day waiting.

To make matters worse, I noticed a typo on one of my queries AFTER I sent it. On the word count, no less. I somehow switched two numbers around, which makes it substantially bigger than the actual count. I’m feeling pretty stupid, but am endeavoring to not let it get me down. It was a silly mistake to make and quite avoidable, but it is what it is now . . . I’ll just have to live with it.

Meanwhile, I’ll be continuing to work on Book 2 and the short stories I have cooking in my head. The deadlines for two literary magazines I’ve been watching are coming up shortly and I have short stories I’d like to submit.

I hope you all have a lovely and creative week!

About R. K. Brainerd

I've been writing since my pre-teens, mostly in the realm of fantasy and sci-fi. My characters are pretty much always clamoring for attention in my head, and if I don't listen to them, they plague me with insane dreams and nightmares until I start writing. I also raise dairy goats, the evidence of which can be found on my Instagram. I've just recently begun my foray into the writing world and look forward to it all with devilish glee. Welcome to the adventure. View all posts by R. K. Brainerd

2 responses to “Query Love Begins . . .

What do you think?

