One Lovely Blog Hop

About two weeks ago I was informed by the engaging Cheryl Fassett of Catching Fireflies that she has nominated me for the One Lovely Blog Hop!

Yes, this post in response is a little late. I’m sure this is a broken record at this point – life got in the way: family time, moving, work, writing, etc. But whatever, I’m writing it now, and am flattered to be nominated for this! It’s also been a lot of fun checking out all of the other nominated blogs out there.

The rules for One Lovely Blog Hop are as follows: list 7 interesting facts about myself and nominate 10 other blogs I find awesome to join the blog hop.

So first, 7 interesting things about myself:

1) I actually finished my first novel at 14… whether or not that manuscript could actually be defined “good” or worth anything is another question.

2) I have four adorable dairy goats who provide me with very yummy milk to make cheese with. (Okay, so only two of them really give me milk – one is an old granny who’s more than content being retired, and another is a male). That being said, I make and sell cheese.

3) I wrote a 95 page thesis on the philosophy behind the rise and fall of democracy, studying Plato, Aristotle, and Thucydides to prove that they still have modern day relevance and applicability.

4) I once went on a road trip by myself through the Redwoods and Sequoia forest of California, as well as death valley, in an attempt to do some soul-searching.

5) I worked as a lighting technician for the university through my undergrad degree, and wore a giant set of keys that got me into almost every building and door on campus. Don’t worry, I didn’t let the power go to my head.

6) During most of my teenage years I helped my parents build our straw-bale, solar-powered, environmentally friendly home – while living in interesting places like a hut made of mud, a cabin on Mt. Hood, and above a pre-school.

7) I love pretty much every creature I get my hands on. Yes, that includes spiders, small rodents, and snakes. The exception is small dogs. I haven’t met very many of those I’ve actually liked.

And my 10 blog shoutouts! (I apologize ahead of time for making all of you do stuff.) These are ten blogs that I find interesting to read and enjoy. In no particular order, some of my favorites are as follows:

Dangerosa Jones

When Nothing Goes Write

Aspiring Writer 22

Bare Knuckle Writer

Anisah Hamid

Dysfunctional Literacy

Kelzbelzphotography

Rachel Being Chatty

Creativity Oracle

I Don’t Get It

There you go! Have fun checking them out, and thank you again Cheryl Fassett.

About R. K. Brainerd

I've been writing since my pre-teens, mostly in the realm of fantasy and sci-fi. My characters are pretty much always clamoring for attention in my head, and if I don't listen to them, they plague me with insane dreams and nightmares until I start writing. I also raise dairy goats, the evidence of which can be found on my Instagram. I've just recently begun my foray into the writing world and look forward to it all with devilish glee. Welcome to the adventure. View all posts by R. K. Brainerd

4 responses to “One Lovely Blog Hop

What do you think?

